’أونلاين سنسورشيب‘ مشروع مشترك لمؤسسستي ’إلكترونيك فرونتير فاونديشن‘ (Electronic Frontier Foundation) و’فيجواليزينغ إمباكت‘ (Visualizing Impact) أسسه رمزي جابر وجيليان يورك عام 2012، ملاحظين حذف عدة مشاركات من صفحات أصدقاء لهم على موقع فيسبوك.

كان لحذف أغنية ’الحرية لفلسطين‘ عن صفحة فرقة كولد بلاي (Cold Play) العالمية على موقع فيسبوك الإلهام الرئيسي للمؤسسين لأخذ المبادرة: فقد اختفى الرابط فجأة بعد أن نشرت الفرقة الأغنية المغناة من قبل مجموعة ’وان وورلد‘ (One World) الموسيقية، وبعد أن استقطب حوالي 7,000 تعليق داعم. وإتضح لاحقاً أن شركة فيسبوك حذفت الرابط على خلفية اعتبار بعض مستخدمي الموقع أن الأغنية ’مسيئة‘، وعلى عكس بعض التكهنات أن الفرقة أزالت المشاركة بسبب الانتقادات، من دون أي إيضاحات من فيسبوك حول أسباب الحذف أوإمكانية الطعن في هذا القرار.

أتى مشروع ’أونلاين سنسورشيب‘ لملء هذا الفراغ ولزيادة الشفافية والمساءلة حول أي عملية حذف لمشاركات مشابهة عبر توفير منبر يمكن مستخدمي مواقع الإعلام الاجتماعي من توثيق عمليات الحذف وطلب إعادة النظر فيها. في عام 2014، فاز المشروع بمسابقة ’نايت نيوز تشالنج‘ (Knight News Challenge)  بهدف تعزيز الإبداع وحرية التعبير على الإنترنت، ومضى فريق العمل قدماً بالتنفيذ.

Onlinecensorship.org is a project of the Electronic Frontier Foundation and Visualizing Impact. It was founded in 2012 by Ramzi Jaber and Jillian C. York, both of whom had begun to notice posts disappearing from their friends’ Facebook pages.

One particular story inspired them to action: popular band Coldplay posted a link to OneWorld’s song “Freedom for Palestine”, a multi-artist collaboration, generating nearly 7,000 largely supportive comments. Then, suddenly, the link disappeared, leading to accusations that the band had taken it down due to criticism. As it turned out, it wasn’t Coldplay that removed the link , but Facebook, after it was reported as “abusive” by scores of users.

The lack of recourse for such takedowns led to the creation of Onlinecensorship.org, a platform where users of social media sites can report content takedowns. In 2014, we won the Knight News Challenge on the topic of strengthening the Internet for free expression and innovation and were finally able to move the project forward.